Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2013, 9:20 AM
pitbull30's Avatar
pitbull30 pitbull30 is offline
Likes Puppy Chow or Ammo
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Back Porch
Posts: 3,034
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default Foscam Wireless IP Camera Setup & Port Forwarding

After reading many reviews/recommendations here, I bought a couple of Foscam Wireless IP cams during the Black Friday/Cyber Monday events to add to my existing security system. They can also double as kid/baby monitors.

The instruction manual that comes with the cameras is worthless. It only addresses a Linksys type router.

I also wouldn't mind hearing your feedback/tips/tricks or any type of cloud storage you use.

Here is what got me through the setup. Hope it helps.

Find your brand of router here.

http://screenshots.portforward.com/

Then watch these and go to work.




Last edited by pitbull30; 12-15-2013 at 9:22 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2013, 6:50 PM
lanwarrior's Avatar
lanwarrior lanwarrior is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Near Walnut Creek
Posts: 564
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

I have 3 Foscam and I setup an FTP server. All captured images are send to the FTP folder, which nothing more than a DropBox folder so I have my own "cloud" backup.

I also didn't open a port on my router. Instead, I setup OpenVPN and to access my cameras, I'll have to VPN to it. This is more secure, IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2013, 8:43 PM
problemchild problemchild is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 33.753276,-118.19139
Posts: 6,968
iTrader: 82 / 100%
Default

Eye Q Eye are the cams you want...........
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2013, 9:26 PM
lowdive's Avatar
lowdive lowdive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: OC
Posts: 147
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

i have a handful of foscams around the house. two to monitor the baby. hoping i have things as secure as i can but definitely like the vpn idea. the cameras are set to save when motion is detected. images are uploaded via ftp and also sent by email. one of these days i'll build a dedicated system for it to record on a constant basis.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2013, 10:24 PM
ExtremeX's Avatar
ExtremeX ExtremeX is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,441
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lanwarrior View Post
I

I also didn't open a port on my router. Instead, I setup OpenVPN and to access my cameras, I'll have to VPN to it. This is more secure, IMHO.
+1

Poking holes in the firewall is old school.

I use an SSL VPN to connect to my internal network.
__________________
ExtremeX
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2013, 9:12 AM
pitbull30's Avatar
pitbull30 pitbull30 is offline
Likes Puppy Chow or Ammo
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Back Porch
Posts: 3,034
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lanwarrior View Post
I have 3 Foscam and I setup an FTP server. All captured images are send to the FTP folder, which nothing more than a DropBox folder so I have my own "cloud" backup.

I also didn't open a port on my router. Instead, I setup OpenVPN and to access my cameras, I'll have to VPN to it. This is more secure, IMHO.
Do you have some decent instructions/references on how I could do this?

Or anyone else who commented on VPN? I'm computer literate, but new to the camera deal.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2013, 9:26 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is offline
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 4,543
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by problemchild View Post
Eye Q Eye are the cams you want...........
No... No I don't.

Foscam is perfect and easy to setup. You get a lot of camera for your money with Foscam.
__________________
NRA Life Member

Sh-Sh-Sha Pocket Sand!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2013, 11:06 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 5,699
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

You could FTP files to an undisclosed minimalist-Linux-box, then synce those files to an off-site location via SFTP.

I have been tinkering with ssh tunnels so that the non-SSL-compliant authentication (non-https://) can be secured and listened to too, in my home, on the D-Link cameras (https on D-Links passes no audio), and PTZ on the Foscam-traffic (non-https://) is secured as none of my foscams support SSL.
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2013, 11:25 AM
lanwarrior's Avatar
lanwarrior lanwarrior is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Near Walnut Creek
Posts: 564
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbull30 View Post
Do you have some decent instructions/references on how I could do this?

Or anyone else who commented on VPN? I'm computer literate, but new to the camera deal.
Sure. I have a Windows 7 "server" that runs on 24x7 running multiple things, like Plex, Splunk, etc, so this is where I also host the FTP server and OpenVPN.

1). FTP server
There are many FTP server app you can choose. UNIX have its own built-in FTP server, but if you use Windows, you can use FileZilla. When you create the folder for accepting the files, put that folder in your Dropbox folder so any images are automatically "backed-up" to the cloud.

On the Foscam, access the settings from the web browser --> Settings --> FTP and configure it with the username, password and folder you setup on the FTP server above.

2). VPN
The easiest is to use OpenVPN VMWARE image file. Download VMWare Player (FREE) and OpenVPN VMWARE image file. Follow the instructions to setup OpenVPN from their website.

VMWare Player: https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/downloads
OpenVPN virtual machine: http://openvpn.net/index.php/access-...vpn-as-vm.html
OpenVPN setup: http://openvpn.net/index.php/access-...art-guide.html

On the client side, I use this:
1). Android: OpenVPN for Android
2). Mac: TunnelBlick

PS: Don't forget to open port 443 and forward to your OpenVPN server.

Last edited by lanwarrior; 12-16-2013 at 11:28 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2013, 7:53 PM
2DoorImpala's Avatar
2DoorImpala 2DoorImpala is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,708
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Im trying out a free to use open source program called iSpy, so far so good. Check it out when you get everything set up. I upgraded to windows 8.1 and IE which i dont like using, didnt play well with activex option. And chrome, firefox it doesnt give me much control browser wise
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-16-2013, 8:26 PM
ExtremeX's Avatar
ExtremeX ExtremeX is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,441
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lanwarrior View Post
Sure. I have a Windows 7 "server" that runs on 24x7 running multiple things, like Plex, Splunk, etc, so this is where I also host the FTP server and OpenVPN.

1). FTP server
There are many FTP server app you can choose. UNIX have its own built-in FTP server, but if you use Windows, you can use FileZilla. When you create the folder for accepting the files, put that folder in your Dropbox folder so any images are automatically "backed-up" to the cloud.

On the Foscam, access the settings from the web browser --> Settings --> FTP and configure it with the username, password and folder you setup on the FTP server above.

2). VPN
The easiest is to use OpenVPN VMWARE image file. Download VMWare Player (FREE) and OpenVPN VMWARE image file. Follow the instructions to setup OpenVPN from their website.

VMWare Player: https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/downloads
OpenVPN virtual machine: http://openvpn.net/index.php/access-...vpn-as-vm.html
OpenVPN setup: http://openvpn.net/index.php/access-...art-guide.html

On the client side, I use this:
1). Android: OpenVPN for Android
2). Mac: TunnelBlick

PS: Don't forget to open port 443 and forward to your OpenVPN server.
Or you can buy a nice used commercial grade firewall and have a hardware based IPSec VPN or SSL VPN on the gateway device without having to use any form of port forwarding to an internal network system for authentication.

You can even enable 2 factor auth for additional protection.

I just buy used Fortigate firewalls... amazing devices.

Then you don't have to rely on a VM for VPN and authentication since its done at the firewall.
__________________
ExtremeX
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-19-2013, 10:50 PM
castelen's Avatar
castelen castelen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I have a Foscam FI8918W. It was hard to set up...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-20-2013, 3:27 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 5,699
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by castelen View Post
I have a Foscam FI8918W. It was hard to set up...
It has a web-interface, right?

I have two of these. What was the hard part, aside from not wanting passwords sent though the Internet via plain text?
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-20-2013, 4:26 AM
atc4usmc's Avatar
atc4usmc atc4usmc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 369
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Default

Im running four FOASCAMS three FI8910W and one 8921W. All running through NO-ip and I can access via my phone etc. I have a synology server that I am planning to use for storing images etc, I guess I will prob set up FTP for that?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-20-2013, 7:26 AM
lanwarrior's Avatar
lanwarrior lanwarrior is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Near Walnut Creek
Posts: 564
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeX View Post
Or you can buy a nice used commercial grade firewall and have a hardware based IPSec VPN or SSL VPN on the gateway device without having to use any form of port forwarding to an internal network system for authentication.

You can even enable 2 factor auth for additional protection.

I just buy used Fortigate firewalls... amazing devices.

Then you don't have to rely on a VM for VPN and authentication since its done at the firewall.
I suppose I could, but at that time I was trying to find a free solution.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-20-2013, 7:39 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is offline
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 4,543
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by atc4usmc View Post
Im running four FOASCAMS three FI8910W and one 8921W. All running through NO-ip and I can access via my phone etc. I have a synology server that I am planning to use for storing images etc, I guess I will prob set up FTP for that?
Yep. Set up a local FTP server and dump images to it.
__________________
NRA Life Member

Sh-Sh-Sha Pocket Sand!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-20-2013, 5:22 PM
atc4usmc's Avatar
atc4usmc atc4usmc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 369
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Default

Thanks MaHoTex!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-20-2013, 5:47 PM
lanwarrior's Avatar
lanwarrior lanwarrior is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Near Walnut Creek
Posts: 564
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaHoTex View Post
Yep. Set up a local FTP server and dump images to it.
If you have cloud based file service like Box, Dropbox, etc.. point the ftp folder there so if the thief stole your server, the images are still saved.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-21-2013, 7:59 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is offline
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 4,543
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lanwarrior View Post
If you have cloud based file service like Box, Dropbox, etc.. point the ftp folder there so if the thief stole your server, the images are still saved.
That has an upside and a downside. While the benefit of having a remote FTP is so it can not be stolen, the downside is your files are on the public network. Sure, they are secure, but so was the credit data for Target shoppers.

I have never been a fan of the cloud based services, well, except for Steam Games that is.

Ultimately, either will fill the need to have a place to collect the images. I figure since I have a server running 24/7 anyway, it is the perfect place for my application.
__________________
NRA Life Member

Sh-Sh-Sha Pocket Sand!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-21-2013, 6:31 PM
atc4usmc's Avatar
atc4usmc atc4usmc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 369
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Default

I agree with you TEX...I do weekly back ups of my server and keep them off site for data security. I understand the dropbox idea for images from the FOSCAM though. May need to look at this a little more.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-21-2013, 7:54 PM
lanwarrior's Avatar
lanwarrior lanwarrior is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Near Walnut Creek
Posts: 564
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaHoTex View Post
That has an upside and a downside. While the benefit of having a remote FTP is so it can not be stolen, the downside is your files are on the public network. Sure, they are secure, but so was the credit data for Target shoppers.
Dropbox, like other reputable cloud-based service, is pretty secure. These are hybrid cloud service and no one have access to your folders (NSA not included ). There is a reason many companies start using these, including Box.net and Google Drive.

It's the same with email - it's more efficient and secure to use Gmail than hosting your own mail server.

Ultimately, it's the type of data you're putting on these cloud-based service. I don't put important files, like tax return, in DropBox. I archived and encrypt this using TruCrypt on separate drives that I put in safety deposit box. It's all about balancing security, cost and convenience and depends on the risks (likelihood X impact).

Regarding Target, that's a different situation IMHO. I have multiple credit cards and I don't used it on shady websites or places. Yet, I had a situation where the CC company called me about attempted fraudulent charges in a city I never been to. It's really hard to stop this - the waiter can scan your credit card for one without you knowing it.

Last edited by lanwarrior; 12-21-2013 at 7:57 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-26-2013, 7:06 PM
Zedrek's Avatar
Zedrek Zedrek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,804
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I bought the Foscam FI8910W and it looks pretty good but the software that came with it really sucks. I can't get it to work properly. I ended up using Sighthound and it's OK for free software but I might just break down and pay for it.
__________________
My Zombie Apocalypse Collection
Bersa Thunder, Browning Buckmark Camper, Charles Daly 1911, Charter Arms Buldog Pug, Chinese SKS, Colt Double Eagle MK II Series 90 10mm, Egyptian Hakim 8mm, Heckler & Koch P2000SK, Kimber Eclipse Ultra II, Mossberg 500A Cruiser, Mossberg New Haven 600AT, Romanian M69 Trainer, Rossi Ranch Hand .44 Mag, Savage Arms Model 73, Smith & Wesson 1006 10mm, Smith & Wesson Sigma .40, Springfield Armory XD-40, Walther P1, Wyoming Arms Parker 10mm, Yugoslavian K98
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-27-2013, 7:30 PM
Toyman321's Avatar
Toyman321 Toyman321 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Simi Valley
Posts: 1,454
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Subscribed for future reading, I picked up a foscam off woot a while back and gave up getting it to work with my router...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-28-2013, 8:41 AM
Zedrek's Avatar
Zedrek Zedrek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,804
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

The Awkward Hamster video's that Pitbull30 linked above were really helpful. I found that it was easier to use Internet Explorer then it was to use Chrome. My camera linked up with my router right away but the monitoring software that came with it sucks.
__________________
My Zombie Apocalypse Collection
Bersa Thunder, Browning Buckmark Camper, Charles Daly 1911, Charter Arms Buldog Pug, Chinese SKS, Colt Double Eagle MK II Series 90 10mm, Egyptian Hakim 8mm, Heckler & Koch P2000SK, Kimber Eclipse Ultra II, Mossberg 500A Cruiser, Mossberg New Haven 600AT, Romanian M69 Trainer, Rossi Ranch Hand .44 Mag, Savage Arms Model 73, Smith & Wesson 1006 10mm, Smith & Wesson Sigma .40, Springfield Armory XD-40, Walther P1, Wyoming Arms Parker 10mm, Yugoslavian K98
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-28-2013, 4:44 PM
pitbull30's Avatar
pitbull30 pitbull30 is offline
Likes Puppy Chow or Ammo
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Back Porch
Posts: 3,034
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zedrek View Post
The Awkward Hamster video's that Pitbull30 linked above were really helpful. I found that it was easier to use Internet Explorer then it was to use Chrome. My camera linked up with my router right away but the monitoring software that came with it sucks.
Glad it helped.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-31-2013, 7:00 PM
Fizz's Avatar
Fizz Fizz is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 634
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

Interesting on the popularity of foscams. I recently bought one one on Newegg Flash because the price was good and I got a stack a Promo from American Express ($10 rebate on $50 or more at neweggflash.com). I only use it as a garage door monitor, so I just have it email me when it detects motion.

I got it setup easy enough (but I do these kinds of setups for a living).

Gotta say; I would NOT ever put a Foscam open to the internet!

Short googling and you'll find some serious vulnerabilities. My model (FI8910w) was affected. Essentially, browsing a specific URL (http://x.x.x.x//../proc/kcore) will cause the camera to display a memory dump; revealing passwords, configuration, etc. information. I was able to confirm it on my model.

This was patched with the latest version of the firmware I applied... but that's just a discovered vulnerability. Doesn't mean there aren't other ways to do the same thing. Baby monitor? This guy was using it for the same thing.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/kashmirh...-foscam-users/

Combine this vulnerability with something like shodanhq.com and you see why this is an issue. I've confirmed with a couple foscams (or similar rebrands) across the globe that this vulnerability is possible on unpatched cams.

Try it for yourself! http://www.shodanhq.com/search?q=netwave+ip+camera

For example, the third result. http://109.173.170.74//proc/kcore (Complete memory dump!) Click that and wait a while, eventually you'll start getting plain text info.

Anyway, guys advocating VPNs and the like are on the right track. It's one of the few cases where I'll say that techies aren't over complicating simple functionality.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:27 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.