Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2013, 5:43 AM
WDE91's Avatar
WDE91 WDE91 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Auburn,Alabama.
Posts: 3,465
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default Wireless router

Well I guess I am growing up.
Its time for me to purchase my first wireless router.

I know little about them other than they transform signal into wireless.

Ive seen prices range from $20-$200.
This is for personal use with a Macbook Pro.
I am on a college budget but at the same time if performance takes a huge jump at an obtainable level no sense buying the bottom.

Any suggestions on routers and price levels that would fit my needs?

Thanks for the help.
__________________
"Americans have the right and advantage of being armed - unlike the citizens of other countries whose governments are afraid to trust the people with arms." James Madison
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2013, 5:48 AM
WDE91's Avatar
WDE91 WDE91 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Auburn,Alabama.
Posts: 3,465
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Also, I am going to need an ethernet cord correct?

Sorry for the newb questions
First time setting this up.
__________________
"Americans have the right and advantage of being armed - unlike the citizens of other countries whose governments are afraid to trust the people with arms." James Madison
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2013, 6:51 AM
tommyboy619's Avatar
tommyboy619 tommyboy619 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: 5 min. away from Tequila, Tacos and Adelitas
Posts: 811
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Routers usually come with an ethernet cord so as long as you already have your modem, you'll be able to just plug it right in. You'll probably have to do to some minimal set up with the router plugged directly into the computer (via ethernet.) There will be an install disk included to help guide you through this process. I just purchased this little guy, and for my needs (condo) it works just fine.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/TP-Link-15...R720N/21553790
__________________
"If you smoke pot, work out and eat well, I guarantee you'll live forever." - Tommy Chong
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2013, 8:36 AM
Barbarossa's Avatar
Barbarossa Barbarossa is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alameda County
Posts: 4,301
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Just upgraded when I got my Apple TV. This streams HD with no issues.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/dual-ban...uter&cp=1&lp=1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2013, 10:47 AM
black_pacer_56 black_pacer_56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sacramento Area
Posts: 113
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

I would buy a either a ASUS RT-AC66U Netgear R6100, Netgear Nighthawk R7000 router for Fry's Electronics with a 3 year extended warranty for $20-$30. After about 2.5 years while under warranty, take it back, and get a new router. You going to want the warranty because they are on 24 hours per day / 7 days per week and around 3 years the wireless signal with degraded and you will have problems with your devices staying connected. I know that two of the three routers are above price range, however with buying the extended warranty you will be able to extend your $$$ and get a total of +5 years for no problems.

http://www.frys.com/product/7696537?...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG

http://www.frys.com/product/7829349?...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG

http://www.frys.com/product/7180902?...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2013, 12:55 PM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 5,700
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Make sure to use WPA encryption at least, WPA2 if you can.
DO NOT USE WEP, as WEP encryption can be cracked by anyone booting to a CD/DVD in minutes.

Use UpperAndLower&$pecialCharactersw/$0m3Numbers for the key...
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2013, 1:37 PM
noob_tube's Avatar
noob_tube noob_tube is offline
Warmongering Pacifist
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
Posts: 4,895
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Once you get the router and are configuring it, choose a channel with less congestion. You can see which channels are overlapping in your immediate area with freely available software. http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by POLICESTATE View Post
Americans who seek to take away liberty and property from others are not true Americans. You cannot be an enemy of freedom and be an American.

Americans who are not self-reliant and depend on government to take care of them are not Americans. You cannot depend on government and be free.
[URL=http://s289.photobucket.com/user/narkotikchaos/media/glock%20squad_zpsvxzrewv8.jpg.html]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-06-2013, 9:23 PM
catmman's Avatar
catmman catmman is offline
CGSSA Coordinator
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 453
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

Just get one. Don't plan on returning it. Make sure it has 802.11 n and stay away from Apple (it will drive you nuts configuring and upgrading it) Depends what you want to do. If you just want a simple router go get one. If you want to play look at http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/index and find one that meets this criteria. It lets you increase the power levels/range and all sorts of other cool things like repeating and bridging.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-07-2013, 6:20 AM
spamsucker spamsucker is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 707
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Linksys/Cisco E4200.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2013, 9:11 AM
blazeaglory's Avatar
blazeaglory blazeaglory is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6,297
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spamsucker View Post
Linksys/Cisco E4200.
I have the 3500 and it hasnt let me down yet. 2 Xbox's, 3 laptops, printers, phones, etc. Never one dropped connection. I can watch HBO and game of thrones from season 1 -3 with no interruptions. The only problem is it was expensive and runs HOT.

If you dont want to spend $100, this is a very decent inexpensive router. Most routers In know usually come with the additional Ethernet cord.

Medialink Wireless-N Broadband Router

http://www.amazon.com/Medialink-Wire...6439832&sr=1-2
__________________
A note to the NSA or anyone gathering information on me, this disclaimer is for you..."Everything I type on this website Is purely fictional and for entertainment purposes only. None of it is true."

Also, sometimes I type in CAPS to emphasize a POINT. Please dont interpret that as YELLING. Sorry if I HURT any fuzzy little bunny's FEELINGS out there.

Last edited by blazeaglory; 12-07-2013 at 9:20 AM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:59 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.