Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Old 07-06-2013, 11:50 AM

Default AK help, i got money to burn!

ok, so im looking to buy an AK pattern rifle i have 3k i really only wanna spend around a grand give or take, i would really enjoy building one but ill wait til i have some more experience around this variant of rifle... ive narrowed it down to either WASR or Arsenel, ive been told to not bother with any besides arsenel but ive also heard you're just paying for the name arsenel and WASR does just as good, so, key points between the two? also, what caliber? 7.62x39 or 5.49x39? ive been told 5.49 is the better way to go, more accurate flatter trajectory, but 7.62 is fairly cheap (havent checked prices much of 5.49) and said to have better ballistics. also ive only seen arsenels in the poly tacticooool layout, and im debating between the classic black and wood or rail system with tacticool stuff, i know thats personal but do arsenels come in the wood?

thanks!
Old 07-06-2013, 12:00 PM
I need a LIFE!!

Look at a build you can get a decent set up for $400 to $800 that wouldn't probably run you $900 to $1300..

Same the money you can and build 2... And a ton of ammo. Just cause you got it doesn't mean you have to blow it in one rifle.

I'm fairly new and have a decent grasp on AK enough to know what I want and need but not enough to really add in a list for you. Wish I could.

IMO tho I feel 47s should always be wood and 74s be black. Being every jungle rifle was an AK when I grew up and 74s were always Russians in the Cold War. So it's timely correct to me.