Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2013, 8:52 PM
Nickbowen5 Nickbowen5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 515
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default RCBS Rockchucker Supreme Master Kit

So I backordered this kit a couple Sundays back from Brownells and have yet to hear anything about it. Brownells has been great because when I call them they are polite and help me figure out when they may receive more. /rant over

The point of this is to ask if anyone knows how much backlog RCBS is currently facing and see if there are others in my predicament. Has anyone else recently purchased and received this kit?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2013, 9:29 PM
mike_c70 mike_c70 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South Bay
Posts: 145
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

midway has it available right now.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2013, 10:04 PM
Bill Steele Bill Steele is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 4,665
iTrader: 55 / 100%
Default

Don't know about backlog times, but the good news is when you get it, you likely won't be disappointed. Good selection.
__________________
When asked what qualities he most valued in his generals, Napoleon said, "give me lucky ones."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2013, 12:08 AM
jdmstuff jdmstuff is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Torrance
Posts: 681
iTrader: 32 / 100%
Default

I see at least one or two on the shelves at most of the LGS' I frequent. I've never noticed the presses being backordered. The dies are harder to find more than anything else.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2013, 11:40 AM
jglabe jglabe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 169
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

I bought one from wideners about 2 weeks ago. Got it last Friday. Overall I am really pleased so far with the Rockchucker Supreme. Built like a brick outhouse. It was missing everything needed to prime a case ( all the small parts for priming ) so I called RCBS and they mailed the the small parts kit the same day. Good customer service. I am impressed
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2013, 7:53 AM
joetotoroto's Avatar
joetotoroto joetotoroto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southside Alhambra
Posts: 102
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

I ordered one from Natchez 2 months ago and got it right away, the reloading tray came damaged though so I have to contact RCBS. They did send me my rebate Bullets already though, they were great!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2013, 7:43 PM
Nickbowen5 Nickbowen5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 515
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Darn I feel left out then. Brownells had a sale on a bunch of stuff and another press I wanted so i bought from there. I'm sad I don't have it yet cause I have everything needed excluding the things in the kit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2013, 9:35 PM
Rider1k's Avatar
Rider1k Rider1k is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: wine country
Posts: 1,956
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Great kit. My GF got me this for Christmas and I couldn't be happier
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2013, 10:32 PM
Solus's Avatar
Solus Solus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Bernardino
Posts: 550
iTrader: 22 / 100%
Default

check your local gun stores if they have one in stock cancel your order
__________________
On the blue side
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-20-2013, 10:56 PM
Colt562's Avatar
Colt562 Colt562 is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 5,095
iTrader: 27 / 100%
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Natchez, Grafs, and Midway have them instock, If I were you I would cancel and order with one the three mentioned.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceflinch View Post
Tis Better, to be Overworked & Underpaid,
Than Oversexed & Underlaid...:D
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-06-2013, 10:56 PM
Nickbowen5 Nickbowen5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 515
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Just shipped today! Will receive it Friday, so I am super excited!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-06-2013, 11:27 PM
ExtremeX's Avatar
ExtremeX ExtremeX is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,484
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Default

Great! Which caliber(s) do you plan on loading?

I have the same kit, very happy with it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-06-2013, 11:34 PM
Nickbowen5 Nickbowen5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 515
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeX View Post
Great! Which caliber(s) do you plan on loading?

I have the same kit, very happy with it.
For right now just .308. I'm waiting to choose one of my grandfather's old guns (most likely will get stuck with a 30-06, which is not a bad thing), and in the future (about 3 years down the line) a .357. I also might purchase a semi-automatic .223 with the recent talks (in CA) of banning these tools.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-06-2013, 11:44 PM
ExtremeX's Avatar
ExtremeX ExtremeX is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,484
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Default

Since you are doing rifle calibers I highly recommend a cartridge headspace kit incase you dont have one to assist in getting the sizing dies setup correctly.

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/479...ith-comparator

Other things not included in the kit are case trimmer and calipers so be sure to have those before you start loading.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-06-2013, 11:48 PM
Nickbowen5 Nickbowen5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 515
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Thanks! I need recommendations for a case trimmer (manual for the time being), if you can provide me with one. I already have Calipers, but I wil look into purchasing the headspace kit.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-07-2013, 4:46 AM
Paperchasin's Avatar
Paperchasin Paperchasin is online now
YOU are next!!
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,308
iTrader: 241 / 100%
Default

Make sure you fill out the rebate form here to get $$ or free bullets!

Last edited by Paperchasin; 05-07-2013 at 4:48 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-07-2013, 7:43 AM
Nickbowen5 Nickbowen5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 515
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

I will Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-07-2013, 6:36 PM
ExtremeX's Avatar
ExtremeX ExtremeX is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,484
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickbowen5 View Post
Thanks! I need recommendations for a case trimmer (manual for the time being), if you can provide me with one. I already have Calipers, but I wil look into purchasing the headspace kit.
Trimmer... I use the CTS trimmer attached to a portable drill

Calipers... Harbor Freight calipers have treated me well, I did check them across a feeler gauge to make sure they read true.

Here are a few reasons why you should get a headspace kit...
Increase brass life
Increase accuracy
Increase safety

Not bumping back shoulders enough can cause feeding issues, common cause for a stuck case.

I find setting up dies per the instructions, you are more likely to bump shoulders back too much... which promotes headcase separation.

On my bolt action for example, if I setup my dies per the instructions and get full cam over, I am sizing them back about 0.004 to .005 in excess. I bump back my shoulders no more than .001" for my bolt action, more for an autoloader...

Safety and making reloads setup specific to my chamber is reason enough for the kit.

Examples of headcase seperation...
http://www.ar15.com/mobile/topic.html?b=6&f=42&t=271670
http://www.ar15.com/forums/t_6_42/348788_.html
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-07-2013, 8:01 PM
Nickbowen5 Nickbowen5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 515
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeX View Post
Trimmer... I use the CTS trimmer attached to a portable drill

Calipers... Harbor Freight calipers have treated me well, I did check them across a feeler gauge to make sure they read true.

Here are a few reasons why you should get a headspace kit...
Increase brass life
Increase accuracy
Increase safety

Not bumping back shoulders enough can cause feeding issues, common cause for a stuck case.

I find setting up dies per the instructions, you are more likely to bump shoulders back too much... which promotes headcase separation.

On my bolt action for example, if I setup my dies per the instructions and get full cam over, I am sizing them back about 0.004 to .005 in excess. I bump back my shoulders no more than .001" for my bolt action, more for an autoloader...

Safety and making reloads setup specific to my chamber is reason enough for the kit.

Examples of headcase seperation...
http://www.ar15.com/mobile/topic.html?b=6&f=42&t=271670
http://www.ar15.com/forums/t_6_42/348788_.html
What I find funny is the fact that harbor freight calipers are the ones that I purchased.
I have added the headspace kit to my cart and will purchase it.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-10-2013, 7:02 PM
Nickbowen5 Nickbowen5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 515
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Received Everything today. Now I just need to purchase primers. One quick question, How do I get powder that is stuck on the inside out. I am using Winchester 748 so I know that it has a tendency to stick in measures
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-10-2013, 7:18 PM
GeoffLinder's Avatar
GeoffLinder GeoffLinder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 2,425
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickbowen5 View Post
Received Everything today. Now I just need to purchase primers. One quick question, How do I get powder that is stuck on the inside out. I am using Winchester 748 so I know that it has a tendency to stick in measures
Powder won't stick in measures. You will get a coating of graphite, it is of no concern. You always throw a few test charges and then dump them back anyway. A 100th of a grain of one powder in 5-6 ounces of another is nothing to worry about.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-10-2013, 7:22 PM
Nickbowen5 Nickbowen5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 515
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

No seriously it is sticking to the metal in the measure
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-10-2013, 7:22 PM
Nickbowen5 Nickbowen5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 515
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

I can see the powder
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-10-2013, 8:01 PM
Bill Steele Bill Steele is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 4,665
iTrader: 55 / 100%
Default

You probably need to degrease the drop. A slightest coating of oil (put there to inhibit rust after manufacture) will cause all sorts of problems.

Take it apart and use a solvent like acetone that won't leave much residue. Wipe it thoroughly with a clea/dry cloth after degreasing before reassembly. Then cycle about a pound of 748 through it to get the graphite coating Geoff was referring to, everything should be jake.
__________________
When asked what qualities he most valued in his generals, Napoleon said, "give me lucky ones."
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-11-2013, 8:42 AM
Nickbowen5 Nickbowen5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 515
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

I think that's what happened I took a dry cloth and got some oil off and then put a dryer cloth through it to make sure there wasn't any static then let the thing sit overnight
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:20 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.