Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2013, 8:33 AM
FullAuto's Avatar
FullAuto FullAuto is offline
Flash ahhhaahh dundundun
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: RED DAWN
Posts: 5,701
iTrader: 13 / 100%
Thumbs down Plasma TV problems

For the last couple of weeks my Philips plasma tv has had some problems. When I turn it on the blue light on the tv comes on and the tv makes a click clack sound over and over and over. When it first started it would do it for a few seconds and then would come on. Now it just does it over and over and the tv will not turn on. Anyone have any idea what this may be? Should I get it fixed? How much will it cost me? Is it worth it? There are two lights in the back of the tv that illuminate when it's clicking. Any help or experience with this is appreciated.
__________________
"THIS IS BAT COUNTRY"
"THE DREAMS OF YOUTH ARE THE REGRETS OF MATURITY"
"JUST BECAUSE YOU'RE PARANOID, DON'T MEAN THEY'RE NOT AFTER YOU"




Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2013, 1:19 AM
moond0ggie's Avatar
moond0ggie moond0ggie is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Discovery Bay & Capitola
Posts: 3,213
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Unplug the TV for a minute each time you try....it helps to let the capacitors discharge.
Many HDTVs have blinking light error codes that will determine which circuit board is at fault. Then you look up that board # on e-bay.
Count how many times the LED light blinks....then look up your Philips model number,
Philips plasma TV blink codes...add your model number in the search

I found this out when my 2011 42" Panasonic Viera went out, I made the repair with a $65. board on e-bay.

Heres some resources I found while fixing mine, I added Philips in the search
AVS forums...search, Philips
Technical bulletins...Philips
ShopJimmys....parts-circuit boards
ecoustics forum...HDTV
e-bay Philips parts

Last edited by moond0ggie; 04-08-2013 at 1:45 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2013, 12:12 PM
chevyjeff chevyjeff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: montana
Posts: 41
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

lcdalternatives.com alot of times a capacitor overheats and needs to be replaced. You can either buy the kit or just source the bad ones. Ive revived 4 tvs and an onkyo receiver for less than ten bux combined.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2013, 12:22 PM
chillincody's Avatar
chillincody chillincody is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: el cajon ca 92021
Posts: 2,684
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

time to ditch that POS plasma and upgrade to a LCD or LED
__________________
Laws that forbid the carrying of arms... disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes... Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man. Jefferson's "Commonplace Book," 1774_1776, quoting from On Crimes and Punishment, by criminologist Cesare Beccaria, 1764
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2013, 12:40 PM
zman's Avatar
zman zman is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: S/W I.E.
Posts: 3,642
iTrader: 59 / 100%
Default

It could be a sign of not enough power coming into the plasma tv. How many other appliances/electronics in that circuit? Try it with no other appliance connected to the whole circuit. Unplug them completely.
__________________

Super Robot VOLTES V
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2013, 8:27 PM
FullAuto's Avatar
FullAuto FullAuto is offline
Flash ahhhaahh dundundun
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: RED DAWN
Posts: 5,701
iTrader: 13 / 100%
Default

Thx for the help guys.......... A buddy of mine had a similar issue and changed the power supply and problem solved, guess I'll try that.
__________________
"THIS IS BAT COUNTRY"
"THE DREAMS OF YOUTH ARE THE REGRETS OF MATURITY"
"JUST BECAUSE YOU'RE PARANOID, DON'T MEAN THEY'RE NOT AFTER YOU"




Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:54 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.