Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2013, 9:46 AM
P.Charm P.Charm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in a bomb shelter north of the US/Mexico boarder
Posts: 1,450
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default Dell Inspirion 9300 laptop lost wifi

I know there is a fix but I'm too stupid to figure it out.

I reloaded clean XP 2p3 and now the ethernet port and wifi connection are gone.

FN + F2 doesn't turn it on anymore.

ok, so I downloaded on another computer the dell utilities and chipset drivers. didn't do it. although I did it on a net book running window 7 and firefox if that matters.


can anyone help me? or tell me what to download to enable the netork port and wifi?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2013, 12:53 PM
superbarnie's Avatar
superbarnie superbarnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 395
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

You have to get the wifi drivers.

The list of drivers for your model is here.

I think you need to install this for ethernet.

install that first and then install this for wifi.
__________________
God, Guns, Guts, and Sea lions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2013, 12:55 PM
P.Charm P.Charm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in a bomb shelter north of the US/Mexico boarder
Posts: 1,450
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

perfect. I'll try them out when I get home. thank you so much.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2013, 1:10 PM
superbarnie's Avatar
superbarnie superbarnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 395
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

No problem. Just remember that whenever you re-install Windows XP, you will need to re-install most of the drivers.

This is not needed in newer Windows versions, Windows 7 and above automatically installs drivers using Windows update.
__________________
God, Guns, Guts, and Sea lions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2013, 5:40 PM
P.Charm P.Charm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in a bomb shelter north of the US/Mexico boarder
Posts: 1,450
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

ok I don't know how to install the cab file.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2013, 6:03 PM
P.Charm P.Charm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in a bomb shelter north of the US/Mexico boarder
Posts: 1,450
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

someone please help
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2013, 6:39 PM
superbarnie's Avatar
superbarnie superbarnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 395
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Dell must have fudged up on that download link.
Here's a different one.
__________________
God, Guns, Guts, and Sea lions.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2013, 6:55 PM
bigbearbear's Avatar
bigbearbear bigbearbear is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4,627
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Check first and see if your WiFi driver is installed. Find the "My Computer" icon and right-click, select Properties and then select Device Manager.

Do you see any yellow or red "!" or "?", if not, your WiFi driver is already installed.

What's missing is the utility that allow you to trigger the WiFi on/off via the button on your keyboard or laptop chassis. I took a look at Dell's page and it looks like this is what you need:
http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/...anguageCode=EN
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2013, 6:56 PM
P.Charm P.Charm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in a bomb shelter north of the US/Mexico boarder
Posts: 1,450
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

ok that helps but i'm doing it from another computer. when i try to run the .exe file it tries to go to the internet. I need to find one that will let me download to this computer then transfer it to my other computer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2013, 6:59 PM
superbarnie's Avatar
superbarnie superbarnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 395
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Just install this one then. This one is for your wifi card.
__________________
God, Guns, Guts, and Sea lions.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-26-2013, 7:01 PM
P.Charm P.Charm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in a bomb shelter north of the US/Mexico boarder
Posts: 1,450
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbearbear View Post
Check first and see if your WiFi driver is installed. Find the "My Computer" icon and right-click, select Properties and then select Device Manager.

Do you see any yellow or red "!" or "?", if not, your WiFi driver is already installed.

What's missing is the utility that allow you to trigger the WiFi on/off via the button on your keyboard or laptop chassis. I took a look at Dell's page and it looks like this is what you need:
http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/...anguageCode=EN
ok great, thanks. that fixed the toggling on and off, but i still don't have a driver
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-26-2013, 7:01 PM
bigbearbear's Avatar
bigbearbear bigbearbear is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4,627
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Ignore. Deleted.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-26-2013, 7:05 PM
bigbearbear's Avatar
bigbearbear bigbearbear is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4,627
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P.Charm View Post
ok great, thanks. that fixed the toggling on and off, but i still don't have a driver
I see that this model you have can be equipped with Intel or Dell's own WiFi chip. Do you know which one you have?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-26-2013, 7:06 PM
P.Charm P.Charm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in a bomb shelter north of the US/Mexico boarder
Posts: 1,450
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

got it. I got the ethernet to work, i just downloaded an older one. I'll try and download the wifi. thanks a lot guys. you two are life savers.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-26-2013, 8:53 PM
superbarnie's Avatar
superbarnie superbarnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 395
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Great, did you get your wifi working?
__________________
God, Guns, Guts, and Sea lions.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-27-2013, 5:43 AM
P.Charm P.Charm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in a bomb shelter north of the US/Mexico boarder
Posts: 1,450
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superbarnie View Post
Great, did you get your wifi working?
yes thank you again wifi is working.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:49 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.