Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > California handguns
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

California handguns Discuss your favorite California handgun technical and related questions here.

Old 03-22-2013, 7:13 PM

Default Night Sights

I am a phosphorescent pigment engineer and a firearms enthusiast. I wrote an article on the benefits, limitations, and correct application of night sights (glow in the dark, photoluminescent, phosphorescent) that I thought some of you might enjoy.

Night Sights

Enjoy it,
Daniel Clark
Old 03-22-2013, 9:25 PM

where can one get these pigments?
Old 03-23-2013, 6:42 AM

astars450, you can click on the links right in the article to find the products on Amazon. Alternatively, you can go directly www.glowinc.com or www.amazon.com/shops/glowinthedark

Killer Bee, I edited the article to compare tritium. The cost of phosphorescent night sights is approximately $2.38 per firearm compared to the $80 night sights.
Old 03-23-2013, 7:12 AM
Veteran Member

I've bought this stuff from them.

If you charge it up in bright light for awhile it will glow for a couple of hours at best, then it's too dim to see.

I did tests using 3 & 4 coats (2 is recommended) on a pure white base. After thorough drying I charged it over 2 hours in bright sunlight then took it to a dark bathroom and started timing. Slightly over 2 hours is all it lasted regardless of how long I left it charging.

So unless your friendly neighborhood burglars schedule their break in so you can be sure the phosphorescent paint is freshly charged, it's worthless.

It's a novelty and the grand kids had fun painting on their bedroom wall. Makes a fun night light but that's about all.
Old 03-23-2013, 7:38 AM

I think 2 hours is a proper assessment, which is reflected in the article.