Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Competition, Action Shooting And Training.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Competition, Action Shooting And Training. Competition, Three gun, IPSC, IDPA , and Training discussion here.

Old 02-05-2013, 8:36 AM

Default Anyone Shooting Sac Valley 600 yard match?

This weekend? It's set for Sunday morning. Just curious how much the fee is for non-members. Also, as a noob, I've heard conflicting reports whether for the 600 yard match, are AR platform guys "allowed" to load a full 10 round mag 2x for the 20 round string or are they required to load one at a time. I ask cause I don't have a mag sled and loading 1/time would be a PITA.
Old 02-05-2013, 9:53 AM

I think it's $25 bucks.

You load 1 at a time since they pull targets for each shot.

Even without a sled why would it be PITA? you just throw a bullet in and slam shut the bolt. Why would you want to cook your ammo between shots in a hot chamber if you didn't have to?

You can probably borrow a sled from one of the service rifle shooters there if you shoot on a different relay.

If not go buy a sled from bob at Richmond R&G.
Old 02-05-2013, 11:36 AM

Because one at a time with no mag means the bolt won't hold open, meaning lots of fiddling around from position. With a mag inserted, bolt will hold open but then need to remove mag with bullet button, load 1 round, and go again.
Won't be at Richmond before Sunday.
Just because they pull targets doesn't mean I can't have a round in the chamber. At least I see lots of bolt guys locked and loaded before the target is back up.
Old 02-05-2013, 11:59 AM

leave your mag in and just throw a bullet in the port. You don't actually have to slide the bullet into the mag unless you are paranoid about slam fires.