Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Curio & Relic/Black Powder
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Curio & Relic/Black Powder Curio & Relics and Black Powder Firearms, Old School shooting fun!

Old 01-14-2013, 9:54 AM

Default Learn me on BP revolvers...

So, if I want to get started with BP revolvers... I am looking at something like these:

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Piett...ver/740536.uts

or

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Piett...ver/705443.uts

There's also a starter kit that's good for 30 rounds... but I am a BP newbie, so what should I use (pyrodex?), what are some dos and don'ts of BP world? Any tips are appreciated
Old 01-14-2013, 11:39 AM
Calguns Addict

Both are good revolvers. Pietta has a good reputation.
I have several Pietta's and they have all worked perfectly.

There's nothing like real BP, but it's going to be easier to find Pyrodex P rather than real BP FFFg. Plus, there are limits/amounts you can legally have of real BP at one time.

Don'ts:

Don't repeatedly (or at all) dry-fire your revolver as it can cause damage to the nipples.
Don't ever use smokeless powder.
Don't smoke while loading, shooting or handling black powder or black powder substitute.
Always use a powder measure. Don't ever eyeball a charge.
When loading, don't cap/prime your nipples first. Powder-wad-ball or powder-ball-grease your chambers first (make sure the balls are fully seated) then cap when you're ready to shoot.
Don't rush out and buy a cartridge conversion cylinder (for steel frames only). Learn your revolver first and the art of shooting Cap n' Ball.

Do's:

Follow all factory recommended powder charges/weight for your iron.
Keep in mind, Brass framed revolvers require a lighter load than a steel frame.
Do wear eye protection when charging your chambers.