Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > CONCEALED CARRY/LICENSE TO CARRY > Concealed Carry Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Concealed Carry Discussion General discussion regarding CCW/LTC in California

Old 05-12-2017, 10:05 AM

Default CCW For Public School Teacher

Hi CGers! So I'm thinking of applying for a CCW in Orange County. I really only want one so that I can CC while backpacking and hiking. The problem is that I don't think I'll qualify for a "good cause." I live in one of the safest cities in OC and I'm a public school teacher. I would not CC at my work due to the state gun-free school zone law (I guess you can CC on campus if you get written permission from the district, but I have no intention to ask for it). Are there any teachers out in Orange County that have successfully obtained a CCW? Let me know if you are one and, if so, how to best explain a good cause. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 05-12-2017, 10:11 AM
CGSSA OC Chapter Leader

If you're not involving your work in the CCW app, then it's irrelevant. You just need "good cause" like anyone else. No sense in asking for just teachers to respond. Just search the good cause threads hereabouts, there are quite a few that have worked that have nothing to do with one's profession.
Old 05-12-2017, 12:29 PM
Veteran Member

Good Cause needs to be YOUR Good Cause, not something copied from the Interweb. If you can't self articulate YOUR Good Cause, you will never make it past the Interview.

Keep in mind HOW California got into this predicament. LIB DEM voters elected LIB DEM anti 2A legislators that ran CTA and Union funded campaigns. Have you contributed to the problem directly or indirectly via membership in CTA?