Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > CONCEALED CARRY/LICENSE TO CARRY > Concealed Carry Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Concealed Carry Discussion General discussion regarding CCW/LTC in California

View Poll Results: Would you recommend a .380Auto for CCW?
Yes, I would. Decent little gun. 42 91.30%
No, I would not. They are unreliable. 4 8.70%
Voters: 46. You may not vote on this poll

Old 05-04-2019, 7:02 PM

Default This is for instructors re: .380Auto

Would you recommend the .380Auto as a carry gun?

I've been a CCW instructor for 5 years now. In all that time I've seen many .380Auto guns in my class. As far as I can remember, I've only seen one make it through the class without malfunction.

At first the shooting portion of my class was 35 rounds. Since the new law the number of rounds is only 12. The one .380Auto that made it through the class was recent so, it only had to fire 12 rounds. I can't remember a single one making through the 35 round course of fire without a malfunction. The brand of gun or shooter experience doesn't seem to matter; they're just not reliable.

The most important factor in a self-defense gun is functional reliability. If it don't work, it's useless.

So, anyone can chime in, but I'd really like to hear from instructors because they see more guns than most. What's your experience with the .380Auto guns?

www.BlackRiverTraining.com
Old 05-04-2019, 7:10 PM
Calguns Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastoff View Post
Would you recommend the .380Auto as a carry gun?

I've been a CCW instructor for 5 years now. In all that time I've seen many .380Auto guns in my class. As far as I can remember, I've only seen one make it through the class without malfunction.