Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > OUTDOORS, HUNTING AND SURVIVAL > Hunting and Fishing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Hunting and Fishing Rifle, Shotgun, Handgun, Archery, Blackpowder Saltwater and Fresh Water

Old 04-18-2013, 6:46 AM
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor

Default Pre Turkey hunt question

Taking my son on his first turkey hunt next week, his first hunt ever actually.

I am going to calll DFG to ask this same question but thought I'd get some calgunners to chime in

Experience shows me that once a turkey is down and/or flapping that any toms/jakes nearby will come over to kick a man while he is down.

Question is, is it legal/ethical for 2nd shooter to take one of the ***** kickers stomping the dead turkey assuming clean shot can be made?
Old 04-18-2013, 7:28 AM

I'm new to turkey hunting so I don't have the experience some other folks have here, but yes, that's fine. They (CA DFG) covered this scenario speicifically at the turkey hunting clinic this year. They said if you shoot a gobbler to stay put for 5-10 minutes and you very well might have a chance at another bird (if you've got 2+ hunters of course).
Old 04-19-2013, 10:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by drutledge79 View Post
I'm new to turkey hunting so I don't have the experience some other folks have here, but yes, that's fine. They (CA DFG) covered this scenario speicifically at the turkey hunting clinic this year. They said if you shoot a gobbler to stay put for 5-10 minutes and you very well might have a chance at another bird (if you've got 2+ hunters of course).