Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > THE CALGUNS COMMUNITY > CGSSA Northern California Chapters
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 01-26-2013, 11:29 AM

Default STS Guns in Folsom....how not to treat a customer..

Since this is my first post here, I want to introduce myself:

I’ve been shooting for more than forty years, beginning with adventures in the creek behind my house with a Daisy 1894, to now – shotgunning for waterfowl or going to the range with a variety of handguns and rifles, including an 1873 Trapdoor Springfield and several guns from the World Wars. I’m a fifth generation Californian but wonder whether the sixth generation will be able to own a gun when they’re my age. I am an NRA member.

Now to the matter at hand:

I’ve been searching for a CA-legal Smith & Wesson M&P15. My girlfriend and I went to STS in Folsom. They didn’t have one, but the guy behind the counter suggested I put my name on their board, and that they would contact me when one came in. If they called me, he said they would give me “24 hours to come in and complete the purchase.”

Two weeks went by then around 6:15pm one evening they called me to say one had just come in. They said I could come in the next morning when they opened (they closed at 7pm). However, I was able to go that night, so I called them back and told them I was on my way. I arrived at 6:45pm.

When I got there, I was told they had sold the gun to someone who’d just walked in. Naturally, I was shocked and in disbelief. “But you just called me to come in and get it, and here I am.” The clerk just shrugged and said, “Hey what can I say? We put it up on the wall and someone bought it.”