Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2019, 9:13 AM
hermosabeach's Avatar
hermosabeach hermosabeach is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,948
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Question Slow Internet

Recently my internet speed dropped from 100-120 MBS to 10 MBS.

I have an ARRIS cable modem and an Netgear Nighthawk Router.

When I plug my PC into the cable modem, I get full speed (100-120 mb/s)

When I plug the Modem into the router, I get 10-25 MB/S from both wired and Wi-Fi.

I tried installing an older version of the Router firmware as well as as the RESET button.

It did not help. It is time to retire the Nighthawk R6700 Router and spend another $200-$300 on a mesh?
__________________




“Science is like an inoculation against charlatans who would have you believe whatever it is they tell you.”
— Neil deGrasse Tyson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2019, 9:22 AM
SkyHawk's Avatar
SkyHawk SkyHawk is offline
Front Toward Enemy 🔫
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Nakatomi Plaza - 30th floor
Posts: 13,496
iTrader: 159 / 100%
Default

Do you have some sort of deep packet inspection feature enabled on the Nighthawk? That may explain it if so.

Edit - it may be called SPI or stateful packet inspection on the Netgear. You may also disable DoS protection and port scan and see if it makes a difference.
__________________
.


Last edited by SkyHawk; 05-26-2019 at 9:26 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2019, 10:40 AM
hermosabeach's Avatar
hermosabeach hermosabeach is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,948
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

I have not changed any settings for about 9 months...

I turned off Port scan- no difference


I appreciate the suggestion
__________________




“Science is like an inoculation against charlatans who would have you believe whatever it is they tell you.”
— Neil deGrasse Tyson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-26-2019, 11:07 AM
SkyHawk's Avatar
SkyHawk SkyHawk is offline
Front Toward Enemy 🔫
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Nakatomi Plaza - 30th floor
Posts: 13,496
iTrader: 159 / 100%
Default

One thing you might try is to connect the cable modem and the PC both to the LAN side of the Nighthawk. Just to see if the problem is at the switch layer or routing layer. You don’t want to run this way of course, but it may be an interesting test to bypass routing/NAT and see what you get. An alternate to this, is to speed test a file transfer between two PCs on the LAN side.
__________________
.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-26-2019, 9:03 PM
MrBlazito's Avatar
MrBlazito MrBlazito is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 900
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Have you tried changing the channel on the router?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-26-2019, 9:31 PM
bool1tholz bool1tholz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 548
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Maybe it's an ipv4 vs ipv6 issue through your isp? See if you can configure the router to use ipv6 do your speed checks then try again using ipv4. Power cycle the modem and router before and after each test.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-26-2019, 10:08 PM
hermosabeach's Avatar
hermosabeach hermosabeach is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,948
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Ok. More ideas to test.
__________________




“Science is like an inoculation against charlatans who would have you believe whatever it is they tell you.”
— Neil deGrasse Tyson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-27-2019, 9:35 PM
bigbearbear bigbearbear is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,175
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

If you are getting only 10 to 25 Mbps speed from both wired and wifi connection to the router, but full speed when you connect your PC directly to the cable modem, chances are that the router is having issues routing between your home network and the internet.

Sometimes, a faulty device connected to the router can cause this issue. To test this, turn off the wifi and disconnect everything from the router. Then plug-in only 1 PC via the Ethernet cable to the router and try a speed test. If you're still getting very slow speed, it is time to toss the router and get a new one.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-28-2019, 7:13 AM
Mute's Avatar
Mute Mute is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Diamond Bar
Posts: 6,756
iTrader: 37 / 100%
Default

Get new cables and try again. If it still has the issue get a new router. I had a Nighthawk router that worked great for a couple of years and then after a couple of firmware updates it started to have all kind of problems. Constant disconnects and dropping of internet connection...etc. Regardless of new firmware or going back to older versions or full reset, I could not fix the issue. Netgear's routers seem to have a limited effective life.
__________________
NRA Patron Life Member
NRA Certified Pistol, Rifle & Refuse To Be A Victim Instructor

American Marksman Training Group, LLC
Visit our American Marksman Facebook Page
Diamond Bar CCW Facebook Page


Life membership now 1/2 off. Ends 8/2/19
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2019, 3:54 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Away from large terrorist targets..
Posts: 7,375
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Is the AC-brick humming, or high-pitch whistling?

If not...
Power-cycle router from the wall side (unplug AC, and give it 1 minute)?

The AC-brick might have a power hiccup, I am not really sure why this happens, but this is the fix I used to use for years.

Let us know.
__________________
Those who know Linux and use it daily generally find iPhruity Apple products useless...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-30-2019, 1:22 AM
axhoaxho's Avatar
axhoaxho axhoaxho is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,506
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I went from a Nighthawk X6 to a Mesh (Amplifi HD) and never looked back.

It covered my 2-stories 4,100 sq. ft. house, plus the front/back yard. I streamed movies to all TVs without a skip.

Easy setup, very stable, looks cool. Highly recommend it.

https://www.amplifi.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:19 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2018, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.
Calguns.net and The Calguns Foundation have no affiliation and are in no way related to each other.
All opinions, statements and remarks made by Calguns.net on this web site and elsewhere are solely attributable to Calguns.net.