Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > SPECIALTY FORUMS > Calguns LEOs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Calguns LEOs LEOs; chat, kibitz and relax. Non-LEOs; have a questions for a cop? Ask it here, in a CIVIL manner.

Old 01-07-2016, 2:23 PM

Default 1811, 1895, Local PD Officers experience?

Hi All - I've been in process with the feds for awhile now (FBI and DEA) and recently started the process with LASD and CBP. All are covered under different LE authority (obviously) and wanted to get perspectives and your experience if you're so willing. Thanks, Gents.

My background:
Former USMC reservist with vets preference. They upped the percentage due to the increase in my monthly deposit so I need to find out if I'm 30% or below.
Corporate HR drone is what I do for a living so nothing noteworthy that may apply to any agency.
39 years old (40 in Nov) and in relatively decent shape. Passed LASD VPAT and CBP but failed DEA, FBI last year (I was recovering from strep) and am retesting in April. (with vets preference I have until 40 so this is my last shot with the Feds)
My pick would be DEA, US Marshals (currently no announcement), FBI since I'd like to do investigative work. I could achieve this through a local PD after some time in and hopefully going for a Detective spot.

1895 is the lowest paying but no retirement cap if I understand it? Can I move from 1895 into an 1811 role AFTER 40 as a lateral since I'm already "in the system". Other than Air and Marine Interdiction units, is there other "high speed" investigative work?

1811 slightly better pay but the chance of being assigned somewhere else is higher but they apparently try to stick you close to home IF you're coming from a major metro area since you're already used to the high cost of living.