Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > CALIFORNIA SHOOTING CLUBS AND ORGANIZATIONS > California Precision Rifle Club
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

California Precision Rifle Club California Precision Rifle Club Forum

Old 03-31-2009, 5:08 PM

Default Are Millet adjustable Rings a suitable alternative to a 20 MOA base?

Hi, I wanted to join up on the shooting sessions you guys are having. I am an absolute noob to long range rifles (I know squat). But first I have to get my rifle capable of even going out that far. From reading the other threads and doing my own research on the net, I know that a 20MOA base is pretty much necessary to shoot out to 1,000+ yards. I've been reading where guys with Leupold Mark 4's still need a 20MOA base to go out that far.

Anyways, my gun is the project Mauser 98 in .308 winchester and I'm having problems finding a 20MOA base that will work. It's a converted ex military gun with a commercial .308 barrel (not a 7.62x51). Previous owner had it tapped for bases and it has a two piece weaver set of bases on there now. The problem is it still has the military 'hump', and the screw holes are not done by any standard. The rear base is from a Remington 700 that I had to modify with a dremel to match the screw holes on the receiver. It fits. But the problem is there is no commercial 20MOA bases that will fit it because--well, it's not standard.

So to get a 20 MOA base on there, it would have to be custom made, or find a base close enough to be modified to fit the screw holes. I was looking around on the internet and found out about the Millet adjustable windage scope rings:
http://www.millettsights.com/control...oc_weaverstyle
So instead of putting on a 20MOA base, could I just use the Millet scope rings and forego the 20MOA bases? Thanks!
Old 03-31-2009, 5:19 PM