Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Old 07-01-2018, 3:28 PM

Default Reloading for the AR15

I have been reloading for almost 40 years. But, this is my first time for a semi-auto rifle.

How many reloads are you guys getting with your AR?

I know that there are a whole lot of depends...such as, chamber, dies, loads ect.

I have just reloaded some LC brass for the 5th time. The rims are still nice. And I have had to do almost no trimming.

I was just wondering what I can expect.

Take care
Abenaki

Last edited by Abenaki; 07-01-2018 at 3:55 PM.. Reason: wrong brass
Old 07-01-2018, 4:39 PM
Toolmaker Extraordinaire
CGN Contributor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abenaki View Post
I have been reloading for almost 40 years. But, this is my first time for a semi-auto rifle.

I know that there are a whole lot of depends...such as, chamber, dies, loads ect.

I have just reloaded some LC brass for the 5th time. The rims are still nice. And I have had to do almost no trimming.

Take care
Abenaki

Ive lost more brass then i've had to scrap. But I don't shoot my AR nearly as much as i use to. I never paid any attention to brass life on them, and I've only had to trim them once a very long time ago. So I'd reason to say with my load being on the lighter side 2800 FPS out of a 20" barrel back in the day when i had a different rifle. IDK I've never had a case split or neck get to thin on a .223. and that is using picked up brass, I just load it and reuse it don't pay attention to it very much.