Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Rimfire Firearms
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Rimfire Firearms .22, .17 and other Rimfire Handguns and Rifles

Old 01-01-2017, 1:23 AM

Default First firearm

Hello!

I'm a new member and I was looking at buying my first ever firearm. My parents are from the Philippines and had a rough upbringing with violence in their neighborhood so they didn't really see the allure of guns or anything, so I guess I'm getting a later start than some. Anyway, I've been researching and looking for .22 bolt action rifle. I was debating between the marlin XT22 and savage mark II. I'm also open to any other types that you guys may recommend. I'm a college student so I'm kind of on a budget, and while I realize this isn't the cheapest hobby, it's been something I've been wanting to get into for a long time. I want to get into hunting at some point in time so that's why I've kind of settled on a bolt action .22. I've been speaking with other individuals through other mediums but it never hurts to get a second opinion, heck, you guys are local enough so it's nice getting an opinion from people that know the rules and regulations of the state. Some of the guys I'm talking with about this are from pennysylvania or texas and those are totally different places in terms of regulations.

Anyway, thank you for your time, and Happy New Year!
Old 01-01-2017, 2:34 AM

I don't have a bolt action .22 rifle - just a couple of different 10/22's and an old Marlin 60., but many here are CZ fans, as well as fans of other bolt actions, so you'll get some good advice here. Welcome to the forums! Happy New Year!
Old 01-01-2017, 3:05 AM

for someone on a budget, I'd recommend shopping the secondary market..