Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights If it aims your firearm, post about it here.

Old 02-24-2019, 10:25 AM

Default Scopes with good Eye Box

Hi Calguns:

I recently acquired a Vortex SE 1-6x scope and like it a lot, except for one thing: The "Eye Box" as I think they call it.

I have plenty of experience with Red Dots but not with Magnified Optics. In coming across so many reviews on variable short-range scopes, I was convinced that a 1-4, 6 or 8 scope would be a good alternative to Red Dots. Numerous times reviewers indicated that the 1x feature is "just like a Red Dot."

No, it is not.

This is quite problematic for me as being used to Red Dots, my eye does not have to be directly behind the optic to see through. With my new SE, I was quite disappointed that just about any position when on 1x that was NOT directly behind the optic meant I couldn't see anything, it would be blacked out.

Are there variable scopes out there with a generous or more forgiving Eye Box?

Your advise or comments are most appreciated.

Last edited by rafa1; 02-25-2019 at 12:38 PM..
Old 02-24-2019, 11:40 AM

I have heard leupold is pretty forgiving

“Eye box (dependent on Exit Pupil and Eye Relief) is strongly influenced by objective lens size and magnification. At 6x any optic will have a smaller eye box than at 4x.”

Could try a scout scope or pistol scope with the long eye relief to see if it helps

"Cross your feet! Kneel down! Stand up! Crawl! Right hand in! Left foot out! You're a little teapot! YOU'RE A LITTLE TEAPOT!"
Old 02-24-2019, 12:27 PM
Veteran Member

The Viper PST 1-6x has a great eye box, but ya the strike eagle and primary arms 1-6x are pretty small eye box.