Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > VENDORS > Primary Arms
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2012, 10:01 PM
duggan's Avatar
duggan duggan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kern
Posts: 1,810
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default Magnifier and mount

Got some measurements and pics to go with my question. Looking for a magnifier and mount that will absolute co-witness with an Eotech XPS2 and a Matech BUIS. I have 2 3/8" between the two with the Matech sticking up at just about 3/4"




Looking for a FTS mount and probably your 3XLER. Thanks in advance,
Mike
__________________
A gun, like any other source of power, is a force for either good or evil, being neither in itself, but dependent upon those who possess it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2012, 6:48 AM
marsh1's Avatar
marsh1 marsh1 is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 215
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Can't cowitness with the magnifier in place so you would go with the tall ADM flip mount to allow for a rear flip. Unfortunately the Matec is too tall. You will need a lower flip. .
__________________
Marshall Lerner
CEO Primary Arms, LLC
Proud to be a Calguns sponsor!!
Contact me at: Marshall@Primaryarms.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2012, 11:51 AM
duggan's Avatar
duggan duggan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kern
Posts: 1,810
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

I guess I should have worded things a bit differently, I didn't mean to imply I was looking for a way to have absolute co-witness with a magnifier. Do you have a mount (FTS or otherwise) that will set at the height that the Eotech is currently at, with the Matech (in the folded down position) where it's at? Thanks in advance sorry for any confusion.
__________________
A gun, like any other source of power, is a force for either good or evil, being neither in itself, but dependent upon those who possess it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2012, 7:08 PM
marsh1's Avatar
marsh1 marsh1 is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 215
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

What I mean is a mount low enough to perfectly line up won't clear most rear flips. We recommend the lower 1/3 height ADM. Will sit a little higher than you EOTech but when looking through the magnifier you get a complete sight picture and the adjustments on the magnifier will center the dot. Still won't clear your Matech. You will need a lo profile flip
__________________
Marshall Lerner
CEO Primary Arms, LLC
Proud to be a Calguns sponsor!!
Contact me at: Marshall@Primaryarms.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2012, 9:10 PM
duggan's Avatar
duggan duggan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kern
Posts: 1,810
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Got it. Short list of rears that'll work with the setup you described?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2012, 7:57 PM
Meety Peety's Avatar
Meety Peety Meety Peety is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,689
iTrader: 49 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duggan View Post
Got it. Short list of rears that'll work with the setup you described?
The only way I've seen people use the Matech buis with this setup is with risers. Magpul gen 2's are a sure thing, pretty sure Troys will fit under most, though it can be tight depending on the mag/mount combo you have. If you went with the FTS and 3xLER I'm 99% sure a troy would fit no problem.
__________________
Contact me via PM if you need help writing a unique opposition statement

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid." - Albert Einstein

“I have a very strict gun control policy: if there’s a gun around, I want to be in control of it.” - Clint Eastwood
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2012, 1:31 PM
duggan's Avatar
duggan duggan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kern
Posts: 1,810
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

I'll find out Monday when I get what I ordered, 3XLER and the ADM mount.
__________________
A gun, like any other source of power, is a force for either good or evil, being neither in itself, but dependent upon those who possess it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-03-2012, 2:04 PM
nrakid88's Avatar
nrakid88 nrakid88 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Santa Clarita
Posts: 3,285
iTrader: 38 / 100%
Default

Keeping in mind the matech is higher on the left side than the right, it wont work with any magnifier/mount combination?

I sure hope there is a way.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-03-2012, 2:05 PM
nrakid88's Avatar
nrakid88 nrakid88 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Santa Clarita
Posts: 3,285
iTrader: 38 / 100%
Default

Sorry to thread jack but my question is related in that i have a matech, but will be using a micro dot with lower 1/3 co witness
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-03-2012, 3:36 PM
duggan's Avatar
duggan duggan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kern
Posts: 1,810
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Mounted so that it flips to the right it rubbed a bit on the windage knob so I shaved down the rubber cover. On the left side it rubbbed even with the cover removed. With the micro dot you may have room to move the sight further forward but I dunno for sure.
__________________
A gun, like any other source of power, is a force for either good or evil, being neither in itself, but dependent upon those who possess it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-03-2012, 6:51 PM
nrakid88's Avatar
nrakid88 nrakid88 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Santa Clarita
Posts: 3,285
iTrader: 38 / 100%
Default

At least it will work on the right side either way right? Just got a dirt problem on that side
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-04-2012, 2:36 AM
duggan's Avatar
duggan duggan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kern
Posts: 1,810
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Yeah it works, like I mentioned I did shave the rubber down a bit, I didn't want to inadvertently change my windage (didn't happen when I was messing with it but the possibility was there).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:30 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.