Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2013, 10:30 AM
evidens83's Avatar
evidens83 evidens83 is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oceanside CA x Tacoma WA
Posts: 7,898
iTrader: 50 / 100%
Default Router keeps dropping connection

HELP!! For the past month or so my Netgear wireless router has been dropping the internet connection and its driving my wife and I crazy! I would have to unplug it and reconnect it after a minute or two to get it working again. Only for it to drop again minutes later! FYI this router is maybe 5-7 years old give or take. Has technology changed enough for me to upgrade to a newer router? Or is there some sort of trick in the settings to keep it from dropping??
__________________
WTS 10/22 Lasermax laser CHEAP!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2013, 5:35 PM
Ryououki's Avatar
Ryououki Ryououki is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 511
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

Is the router warm? Usually this is a sign of overheating.

What model is it? Some routers have the majority of the vents on the bottom which is stupid since heat rises and gets trapped in the case. If the majority of the vents on your router are on the bottom, try flipping it upside down. If it is already warm/hot, let it sit upside down for a few minutes to cool down first.

Does it have fuzz, hairballs, dust, or anything else clogging the vents? Blow it out with a can of dust. Or even better, open it up completely and give it a good clean out.

You don't have anything around the router that could be trapping the heat in an enclosed area around it do you? If so, clear out stuff from around it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2013, 6:50 PM
Brianguy's Avatar
Brianguy Brianguy is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,839
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

What Ry said. If it's a belkin: set it on fire and buy non belkin products.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2013, 6:56 PM
Eljay Eljay is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,924
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

And if that fails, the good news is that routers have gotten pretty cheap so replacing it isn't such a big deal.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2013, 6:58 PM
Ninety's Avatar
Ninety Ninety is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: OC , AZ
Posts: 3,995
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

I have a netgear as well and have this problem. it's the router.. no known issue to resolve. i flashed to an older firmware and it seemed to help a little.. now I have to reset it only once a day or so.. annoying drives me crazy too..
__________________
NRA Member
The Constitution does not bestow wisdom. It's up to the body politic to be wise. -Patriot
All that is required for evil to prevail is for good men to do nothing.
-Edmund Burke
I'd much rather go to my grave never needing my gun, than go there wishing I had it.
- Phil Dalmolin

The Battle of Athens was illegal too.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2013, 7:27 PM
evidens83's Avatar
evidens83 evidens83 is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oceanside CA x Tacoma WA
Posts: 7,898
iTrader: 50 / 100%
Default

Well I ended up buying a Netgear N300. No more dropped connections! (fingers crossed)

And like said above, yes it was pretty dusty and filthy lookin. Thanks fellas for the replies.
__________________
WTS 10/22 Lasermax laser CHEAP!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2013, 7:56 PM
bearone2's Avatar
bearone2 bearone2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 28
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

change to another channel if dropping wi-fi. i've had the same linksys wrt54g for 15+ years.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-04-2013, 8:00 PM
todd2968's Avatar
todd2968 todd2968 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,690
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

Mine does the same thing I'm thinking of plugging in a timer to turn off when I sleep
__________________
NRA LIFE MEMBER
VFW LIFEMEMBER
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-04-2013, 8:00 PM
evidens83's Avatar
evidens83 evidens83 is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oceanside CA x Tacoma WA
Posts: 7,898
iTrader: 50 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bearone2 View Post
change to another channel if dropping wi-fi. i've had the same linksys wrt54g for 15+ years.
My new router has the channel set on auto. Is that a good thing or bad thing?
__________________
WTS 10/22 Lasermax laser CHEAP!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-04-2013, 8:08 PM
bearone2's Avatar
bearone2 bearone2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 28
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

i don't have an auto for selecting the wi-fi channel & need to select it manually & use ch 11.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-04-2013, 8:13 PM
Brianguy's Avatar
Brianguy Brianguy is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,839
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

You can scan for a less congested chan using this tool
https://tools.meraki.com/stumbler
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-05-2013, 4:03 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 5,820
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brianguy View Post
You can scan for a less congested chan using this tool
https://tools.meraki.com/stumbler
I think some windows drivers disallow promiscuous mode, does this work pretty-well?

Backtrack Linux Live CD/DVD's are the best was I found to get just about every wireless NIC working to see local wireless traffic without installing anything.
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-07-2013, 11:44 PM
lanwarrior's Avatar
lanwarrior lanwarrior is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Near Walnut Creek
Posts: 570
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

In my case it's the Asus RT-N66. Keep dropping Internet on many spots around my home.

Upgraded the firmware, changed channel and increased the wireless post to 200... No go. ...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-08-2013, 11:35 AM
Ricky-Ray's Avatar
Ricky-Ray Ricky-Ray is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Covina, CA
Posts: 3,179
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Default

I have a Netgear wireless N router too but it's certain computer's in the house will drop the connection and won't reconnect unless I reboot the router. I can be on one computer and it drops and won't reconnect and the second computer will be working just fine and both are in the same room.

At first I thought it was the computer so I rebuilt it but still having the same issue. I'm thinking it's my router since it's about 3-4 years old.

I think I'm going back to getting a Linksys router. I never had issues with them before.
__________________
Ray

"If you lead your life the right way, the karma will take care of itself. The dreams will come to you." - Randy Paush, Carnegie Mellon University

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-08-2013, 12:40 PM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 5,820
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Many of the old blue/black Linksys routers last longer than the computers that plug-in, or connect wireless to them, but I have not owned one of the Cisco orange ones, or all black ones, as the Freebee Actiontec MI424WR Rev. "I" works pretty-durned-well.
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-08-2013, 12:44 PM
bearone2's Avatar
bearone2 bearone2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 28
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky-Ray View Post
I have a Netgear wireless N router too but it's certain computer's in the house will drop the connection and won't reconnect unless I reboot the router. I can be on one computer and it drops and won't reconnect and the second computer will be working just fine and both are in the same room.

At first I thought it was the computer so I rebuilt it but still having the same issue. I'm thinking it's my router since it's about 3-4 years old.

I think I'm going back to getting a Linksys router. I never had issues with them before.
are you sure it's not a modem or service provider problem?

my old linksys, wrt54g never skips a beat.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-08-2013, 12:50 PM
hcbr's Avatar
hcbr hcbr is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,556
iTrader: 65 / 100%
Default

All the netgear's i've dealt with had the dropping issues, and just junked them. I've gone with Asus and never looked back!
__________________
Be the change that you wish to see in the world.
Mahatma Gandhi

"A bullet sounds the same in every language..."
Stewie Griffin (Family Guy Episode: Stewie Griffin: The Untold Story 2005)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-08-2013, 1:52 PM
lanwarrior's Avatar
lanwarrior lanwarrior is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Near Walnut Creek
Posts: 570
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcbr View Post
All the netgear's i've dealt with had the dropping issues, and just junked them. I've gone with Asus and never looked back!
What model of Asus diet do you have? Mine have wireless connection issue as described above.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-09-2013, 8:48 PM
NoSpam's Avatar
NoSpam NoSpam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SGV
Posts: 700
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

the routers of today have way more cpu and memory in them, and at a much lower price. Asus routers are a great value because they offer a lot of memory which translates into more concurrent connections and a better overall experience. Though most of the common brands have similar offerings. Most router issues are related to firmware issues. I usually replace the stock firmware immediately with DDWRT or Tomato. It's normal for them to run hot, but after many years of constantly being on, they suffer from dust buildup and static like how old clock radios used to do.

Regarding Belkin....I can't say I've ever had a decent product from them.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-07-2013, 12:47 PM
catmman's Avatar
catmman catmman is offline
CGSSA Coordinator
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 456
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

I always turn off "auto channel" and been finding a lot of issues lately with routers that upgrade the firmware themselves. I would disable and not upgrade unless something isn't working like "guest mode"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:30 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.