Calguns.net

Calguns.net (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/index.php)
-   Hunting and Fishing (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/forumdisplay.php?f=87)
-   -   Hunting for the first time (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=1566091)

afteractionreport 10-20-2019 5:50 AM

Hunting for the first time

I've never hunted. I want to and I also want to experience "skinning" an animal.

Its kind of a last minute idea since I have a four day weekend coming up soon.

I have no idea what to expect but am willing to travel.

Wife is forking over the cash so I'm left with the planning---if it actually happens...

Deer, hog, Turkey comes to mind but open to anything that's palatable and in season.

Since it's my first time I would probably need a guide and all the details needed to hunt legally...

I have an AR in 556/223 with scope and a M500 in 12gauge but short barrel. Willing to buy a 28 inch barrel...

Any ideas for me?

I'm in the Long Beach area so any info on nearby businesses that offer the safety course?

Thanks

afteractionreport 10-20-2019 5:51 AM

Another question if my wife is with me but doesn't hunt does she need a license too?

tigerpan 10-20-2019 7:44 AM

https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/Hunter-E...ollow-up-class

JackEllis 10-20-2019 7:55 AM

My guess is all of the outfitters are booked. Deer season is just about over in California and in any event, you should be using something with more punch than a .223 for four-legged game (.243, .308, .270, 6.5 Creedmoor among others) unless you're good enough to spine the animal.

There's always coyotes, which require a license but no tag.

therealnickb 10-20-2019 8:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by afteractionreport (Post 23525190)
Another question if my wife is with me but doesn't hunt does she need a license too?

Donít have her hold your gun and she wonít need a license.

Mesa Defense 10-20-2019 8:03 AM

Do you have a hunting license or will you need to take the 8 hour course?