Calguns.net

Calguns.net (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/index.php)
-   Concealed Carry Discussion (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/forumdisplay.php?f=179)
-   -   CCW question in reguards to security work (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=810865)

BTAzombieHunter 08-20-2013 11:04 AM

CCW question in reguards to security work

Let me start by saying i have wanted a ccw long before i thought about going into security, but funds were not available. I currently work as an armed guard in Sac county, the company has a few openings in Executive Protection that would require me to be in plain clothes with my weapon concealed. It is my understanding that I could get my ccw for work purposes but there may be restrictions placed on it "for work purposes only." As i stated in the begging i want to carry concealed on and off duty. So the question i am asking is, would it be a bad idea not to mention the line of work i am in? If so Is there a particular way i could word my application to be able to carry concealed on and off duty? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

BTAzombieHunter 08-20-2013 11:28 AM

I also work a second job in construction that i could list as my employment verification.

allpoint 08-20-2013 11:52 AM

In San Diego Cty mine reads, "Plain Clothes security and protective services only". If your security company is going to sign off approval for you to get your ccw, it would have to show for security. I take the Plain Clothes Security statement to mean that's what the permit is for not that's why I'm carrying while not Plain clothes security. I've presented my CCW to LE while not working and nothing came of it.

Noggles 08-20-2013 11:56 AM

Shouldn't matter since Sac Co. is shall issue.

BTAzombieHunter 08-20-2013 12:02 PM

thanks allpoint that makes sence. Noggles could you explain "shall issue" in a little more detail?

bigdawg86 08-20-2013 12:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BTAzombieHunter (Post 12113543)